Stages of Breast Cancer

  • Women‍‍`s Corner
  • February 12, 2021

A doctor stages cancer consistent with the dimensions of the tumor and whether it's spread to lymph nodes or other parts of the body.

There are alternative ways of staging carcinoma. A method is from stage 0–4, with subdivided categories at each numbered stage. Descriptions of the four main stages are listed below, though the precise substage of a cancer can also depend upon other specific characteristics of the tumor, like HER2 receptor status.

Stage 0: Referred to as ductal carcinoma in place (DCIS), the cells are limited to within the ducts and haven't invaded surrounding tissues.

Read More : Easy Vegetarian Chili

Stage 1: At this stage, the tumor measures up to 2 centimeters (cm) across. it's not affected any lymph nodes, or there are small groups of cancer cells within the lymph nodes.

Stage 2: The tumor is 2 cm across, and it's began to spread to nearby nodes, or is 2–5 cm across and has not spread to the lymph nodes.

Stage 3: The tumor is up to five cm across, and it's spread to many lymph nodes or the tumor is larger than 5 cm and has spread to a couple of lymph nodes.

Stage 4: The cancer has spread to distant organs, most frequently the bones, liver, brain, or lungs.

Read More :  Healthy Coleslaw Salad

Related Content

Leave a Comment