What are Whole Grains?

  • Womenscorner Desk
  • October 13, 2020

Grains are the seeds of grass-like plants called cereals. a number of the foremost common varieties are corn, rice, and wheat. Some seeds of non-grass plants, or pseudocereals, also are considered whole grains, including buckwheat, quinoa, and amaranth. Whole-grain kernels have three parts.

Bran : this is often the hard, outer

Shell : It contains fiber, minerals, and antioxidants.

Endosperm : the center layer of the grain is usually made from carbs.

Germ : This inner layer has vitamins, minerals, protein, and plant compounds.

Grains are often rolled, crushed, or cracked. Nonetheless, as long as these three parts are present in their original proportion, they’re considered whole grains. Refined grains have had the germ and bran removed, leaving only the endosperm. Though enriched refined grains have had some vitamins and minerals added back, they’re still not as healthy or nutritious because the whole versions.

Read More : Guava‍‍`s Possible Benefits for Fertility

Common sorts of whole grains include:

- oatmeal

- popcorn

- millet

- quinoa

- rice

- whole rye

- wild rice

- wheat berry

- bulgur

- buckwheat

- freekeh

- barley

- sorghum

Products made up of these foods are considered whole grain. These include certain sorts of bread, pasta, and breakfast cereals. When you purchase processed whole-grain products, read the ingredient list to form sure they’re made entirely from whole grains, not a mix of whole and refined grains.

Also, keep an eye fixed on the sugar content, especially within the case of breakfast cereals, which are often loaded with added sugar. Seeing “whole grain” on the packaging doesn't automatically mean that the merchandise is healthy.

Read More  : Health Benefits of Eating Oatmeal  

Related Content

Leave a Comment